
Correctable Errors 
 
 
 

Officials may correct errors if a rule is inadvertently set aside and results in: 
 
a: Failure to award a merited free throw 
b: Awarding an unmerited free throw 
c: Permitting the wrong player to attempt a free throw 
d: Attempting free throw at wrong basket 
e: Erroneously counting or canceling a score. 
 
In order to correct errors, the error must be recognized no later than the first 
dead ball after the clock has started. 
 
If the error is erroneously counting or canceling a score while the clock is 
running and the ball dead, the error must be recognized before the second live 
ball. 
 
If the error is a free throw by the wrong player or at the wrong basket, or 
awarding of an unmerited free throw, the free throw and activity during it, 
other than unsporting, flagrant and intentional or technical fouls, shall be 
canceled. 
 
Points scored, consumed time and additional activity which may occur prior to 
the recognition of an error, shall not be nullified. Error because of free throw 
attempts by the wrong player or at the wrong basket shall be corrected by 
applying Rule -1 and 8-2. 
 

If and error is corrected, play is resumed from point of interruption, unless it is a 
merited free throw and there has been no change of possession since the error 
was made, in which play shall resume after free throws. 
 
 
 
 
 


